Home / Convocation-2016

Convocation Procession

The Convocation ceremony began with a majestic and grand academic procession on a melodious symphony in the Ustad Alauddin Khan Conference Hall of ITM University. The procession was led by the Registrar, Dr. Omveer Singh. It constituted of the Guest of Honor Prof. Dr. Girijesh K. Mehta, the eminent scientist at the Inter University Accelerator Centre, New Delhi, elite and celebrated personalities from the realm of Science, Literature, Music, Film and Media along with Chancellor Mr. Rama Shankar Singh, the Vice President Mrs. Ruchi Singh, Managing Director Mr. Daulat Singh Chauhan and the Deans and Head of the Departments of various Schools of ITM University. Alongside there were flag bearers carrying flags of different nations like Botswana, Vietnam, Afghanistan, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Ivory Coast, Bangladesh and Nepal from where the students have come to study in ITM University. The procession was followed by a Musical Invocation of the Divine entitled Powers of Nature by means of Veda Mantras.

Honoris Causa

In its first Convocation Ceremony, ITM University bestowed upon the degree of Honoris Causa (D. Lit. Degrees) to Mr. Shyam Benegal (Film, Director and Screen Writer), Mr. L. Subramanium (Violinist, Composer, Grammy awardee), Ms. Mridula Garg (Writer), Mr. Vinod Dua (Journalist, Psephologist, Anchor, Cuisine Presenter), Mr. Prabhakar Kolte (Eminent Painter), Ms. Tessy Thomas (Scientist, Technologist, DRDO official), Mr. Anupam Mishra (Environmentalist, Writer and Thinker), Mr. Gopichand Pulela (Former Badminton champion, Chief National Coach—Indian Badminton Team, Sports Teacher) and Mr. Yuvraj Singh (Cricketer). The latter three could not make up to the event due to compelling reasons. They will be awarded degrees in a special Convocation in the near future in ITM University. Also five Ph.D. degrees were conferred upon the candidates who were pursuing research in ITM University.

Student Celebration

In the first Convocation of ITM University the passed out students of 2015 and 2016 batches of various disciplines were awarded their degrees and gold medals. Also, it is noteworthy to mention that some meritorious students were awarded gold and silver medals that have been sponsored by the distinguished citizens of the country for a lifetime.

All the sponsored medals detail given below –

S.No.Name of the MedalRecipients
1Jaychand Mehta Gold MedalShivamSengar and Group for “Arrival Shop” (Best venturing Enterpreneur)
2Dwarka Prasad Gold MedalMadhulika
3Ashok Goyal Gold Medal Mohit Mishra
4Thakur Saheb Bachchh raj Singhji Rathore Gold MedalSharmishtha Barua
5Shakuntala Devi RamdasTripathi Gold MedalSushan Karmacharya
6Samundari Devi Jain Silver MedalAnuj Sharma

Thereafter the Chancellor administered Oath to the recipients of the various degrees. This was followed by a group photograph of all the awardees with the Honoris causa recipients. The students then tossed up their graduation caps in the air and this image was captured in several cameras! Indeed a joyous and memorable moment! There was fun, frolic, nostalgia and loads of enthusiasm amongst the ex-ITMians…. The event concluded with dinner comprising of mouth- watering delicacies for one and all.